Simone A Woman is not born a Woman rather, she becomes a woman. My Thank you letter to my teacher beloved Madame Daziano

Dear Madame   Daziano

 

Many people dream  of having  a lecturer like you and from the deepest part of my heart I am grateful that, you taught me. I am grateful that you listened to us and I am grateful that you challenged us and made us look at ourselves within the wider spectrum of the world. You provided us with one of the liveliest classrooms were you encouraged us to not only learn from the curriculum but, from each other. You guided me on how to make good and pragmatic choices for mine and my classmates  future careers including, advising us on how to apply to certain organisations. For the first time, I realised why I was wrong and the whole process became more than just  a learning experience. What I learnt from you was much more than being a good student and understanding the emerging markets  or being a  professional but, being a good human being driven by purpose and a desire to improve the world and for that, I am grateful.

 

Part of the reason why I came to Paris was to not only get a structured curriculum in Public Policy but  to also, learn about philosophy and a way of  thinking  critically. Despite my love for Simone de Beauvoir, I knew so little about the conditions and the challenges faced by women  outside the world I had experienced except reading about them in the broadsheet papers. However, you taught me that, actually, there was more than one way of becoming a professional woman. More than one way to be respectful, accommodating, caring and still be forthright and respected. For that, I watch closely, I listen a lot more and I talk a lot less and understand a lot more. The seminar you gave on how development affects women in emerging markets was all the more inspiring. You gave us  a nuanced approach to understanding  the frameworks that guide how various aspects of development in emerging markets affect women. Most importantly you situated our experience in the   subjects we were learning.

 

What you gave us as your students was much more than just facts about the emerging markets and the various development strategies. You gave us a fresh pair of eyes through which we could see the world anew. A way to evaluate information, a way to critically look at events, a way to find meaning and a way to look at trends not with the herd mentality that often shutters all reason but, with a much more collected and sound nuanced understanding of exactly the way the world works and what drives the engines of development.

 

Thank you for giving me useful feedback on how to effectively structure my work; make presentations and how to write an exposé. I still quote the book review that I did on World Order by henry Kissinger and over the summer I decided to purchase the book you recommended Africa- US relations in the age of Obama. Thank you for improving my communication skills and how to actively participate in class discussions. Most importantly, thank you very much for giving us, Public Policy Students, a glimpse into what the future in emerging markets will look like.

So as we enter into  the final semester and we prepare to graduate, I wanted to write to say, thank you.  Thank you for one of the most inspiring class and most certainly, thank you for the most inspiring presentations. You have made an impact not just on myself but, on my fellow classmates and for that, I am very grateful.

 

Thank you for making my experience at Sciences Po very special.

Leave a Reply

